It’s time to kick up a shoe storm – sports stylee!

Balenciaga s/s 2010

Alexander Wang s/s 2010

With the likes of Balenciaga, Alexander Wang and Loewe proving that gym wear can be über glam (and with my shoe cupboard crying out for fresh blood) I have turned my attention to footwear. A simple way to ease oneself into the urban sports trend, and to sate the insatiable hunger of the shoe beast – two birds, one stone. Genius? Could well be.

Office: Best Foot Forward in grey leather.

Ash: Thelma buckle wedge.

Schuh: Lois lattice court patent

These Lola Hush Puppies are simply fabulous – sport-chic with a retro twist: very cute and very me. (In fact I’ve just ordered them in black – the girlish gingham swung it for me; that and the fact that I like my wardrobe to multi-task and these will satisfy me during one of my monochrome moments when I need something more casual than killer).

Designed by Laura Berry for the HP ‘Shoeperstar’ competition; they come in black (gingham trim) and purple (trimmed with cute-as-a-button florals) and are supposedly kind to feet – Give me 5 working days and I’ll be sure to let you know!

New Look: mesh sandals

Schuh: Roche perforated lace-ups

The key with this trend seems to be structure – strong with a masculine edge – head for mesh, straps and cut-aways and work with sleek and minimal styling; think skater-meets-mod a la Proenza Schouler or Wang-eqsue collegiate-chic, et voila! Sport-chic without the sweat.

Tweet This!

Leave a Reply

